The prayer’s mat – a private therapy room

“And to Allah ˹alone˺ bows down in submission whatever is in the heavens and whatever is on the earth of living creatures, as do the angels—who are not too proud to do so.” (Qur’an 16:49)


We pray five times a day – in Ramadan even more (especially during the night.
Each mandatory prayer takes about 5 minutes – a moment of devotion, inner contemplation, realignment and reassurance.
If properly done, with the right intention and concentration, this is a moment of deep relaxation – a bit like meditation, even deeper. The movements are similar to Yoga’s “sun salutation”, but focused solely to our Creator.

We do it wherever we are. Outside on the naked ground, but normally on a little rug, a prayer mat.
You can find them in a million of different styles, in each’s Muslims home, folded up in every room.

It is just a little piece of rug. My favorite one is beautifully weaved. I put it wherever I am, making sure that I am first clean and properly dressed (after the mandatory washing Wudu).
I face the direction of Mecca and then the paryer begins “Allahu akbar! (God is the Greatest): 5 minutes of withdrawal from everyday life in the morning before sun rises, at noon, in the afternoon, at sunset and by night.

These moments are not only prayer, invocation, obedience, expression of gratitude and devotion, they are as well meditation, purification, a moment of guidance and inspiration, of therapy, healing and self-discovery, that gives new fuel and recharges our batteries.
Subhan’allah, I love this little oasis of mine, full of peace and blessings. This mobile and flexible place of comfort that allows me, at least five times a day, to make a clear statement, to mark off my private space and to have a little break wherever I am. Alhamdulillah.

(Text excerpts from a blogpost from 2008, still valid…)

“So glorify the praises of your Lord and be one of those who ˹always˺ pray” (Qur’an 15:98)


“My Lord! Make me and those believers of my descendants keep up prayer. Our Lord! Accept my prayers.

(Qur’an 14:40)

Some older articles and inspiration and DIY tutorials and about the role of prayer rugs here

Allahumma taqqabbal minni oua minkoum.

“Observe the prayer from the decline of the sun until the darkness of the night and the dawn prayer, for certainly the dawn prayer is witnessed by angels. And rise at the last part of the night, offering additional prayers, so your Lord may raise you to a station of praise.
And say, “My Lord! Grant me an honourable entrance and an honourable exit and give me a supporting authority from Yourself.”
 (Qur’an 17:78-80)

Ameen.

Wishing blessed last ten nights of Ramadan to all!

1 thought on “The prayer’s mat – a private therapy room”

  1. wa alaykoum Salam wa rahmatuLlah

    excellente fin de Ramadan à toi aussi chère sœur, qu’Allah agrée ton jeûne et celui de tes proches, qu’Il vous comble de Ses Bénédictions 🤲

    la prière est un trésor inestimable 💛

    AlhamdouliLlah 💛

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment